Northdowns BS was formed by a group of likeminded fanciers who thought it a good idea to start a new specialist society to cater for breeders in northern Hampshire and surrounding counties. The inaugural meeting was held in Odiham, Hampshire on 26th November 1981 and the society was formed.

Founder members were : R. E. Barnes, P. Bourne, P. Bowels, Mr & Mrs Burne, D. Cunningham, T. Draycott, M. Freeborn, M. Hatcher, P. Hurley, R. Johnson, B. Lancaster, M. Mapston, C. Newbury, D & J. Nichols, M. Noble, D. Pearce, B. Poole, J. Rice, C. Saunders, H. Starnes, K. Trapnell, T. Tuxford, D. Ward, R. Watts, W. White and S. Warren.

Society Presidents have been Brian Byles 1982-1983, Gerald Bink 1984-1987 & 2006-2008, Richard Marchbank 1988-1999, Chris Angus-Smith 2000, Malcolm Freemantle 2001, Stella Harvey 2003, Mick Freeborn 2005, Malcolm Freemantle 2009-2011, John Gorrell 2012/13, Graham Cornwall 2014/16.

Past Chairmen have been Ken Trapnell, Ricky Watts, Malcolm Freemantle, Brian Poole, Terry Tuxford, Chris Angus-Smith, Jim Lawrie with Graham Cornwall as the current incumbent.

Open show winners of the past 1999 BIS Steve Robertson, Y/B B&C Heale; 2000 BIS B&C Heale, Y/B HW & M Hough; 2001 BIS Joyce & Watson, Y.B  B.Sweeting; 2002 BIS Burne & Crooks AA & Y/B

Northdowns BS has thrived and established itself as one of the leading Budgerigar Societies in the South of England.